Student Initiatives

PANALOBBY

The student initiative PANALOBBY has been working on internationalizing and networking the Kunsthochschule since 2015. With their counseling services for international students and those interested in the program, with the “Welcome Breakfast,” and with various artistic projects, PANALOBBY contributes to optimizing the internal structures and institutions for international students. Contact: info[at]panalobby.com.
 

Risowerkstatt

The Risowerkstatt (Room 0100, Atrium) is a print lab organized by students at the Kunsthochschule. Posters, flyers, zines, and other materials are printed at cost in various printing screens. Alongside a number of special print colors, the workshop also maintains a selection of papers. Contact: risowerkstatt[at]gmail.com.
 

Haus und Wirt

The exhibition space Haus und Wirt (in Frankfurter Straße, Kassel) was launched by students at the Kunsthochschule in 2019. It provides artists as well as student of the Kunsthochschule the opportunity to try out concepts and to make works accessible to a wider public. Whether performative, discursive, in the form of a presentation, a classic exhibition, or as a closed shop window—the little corner space with its two large window fronts is open for a wide variety of approaches.

 

TOKONOMA

As a platform for youth art and club culture, TOKONOMA in Kassel organizes lectures, film programs, exhibitions, and club nights. The goal of the group is to reflect contemporary themes in art, film, and music and to encourage young artists. Contact: info[at]supertokonoma.de.

 

Stellwerk

Stellwerk in the Kasseler KulturBahnhof is an exhibition space organized by students. Stellwerk is conceived on the one hand as a platform for young artists whose work has not been shown. On the other hand, it also presents already established artists. In addition, it encourages networking among artists in Kassel and outside the city.  Contact: stellwerkkassel[at]gmail.com.
 

BIOLAB

BIOLAB has established a new work and research environment to provide students the opportunity to engage – creatively, artistically, and scientifically – with living organisms at the interface between design, art, and biology. Along with its network partners, BIOLAB offers teaching and learning events as well as a platform for exchange. Practice oriented projects can be carried out directly at the lab.
Contact: mail[at]biolab-kassel.de.

Seed confetti

Seed confetti is compostable confetti carrying seeds from 24 endemic plants. These include wild grasses, herbs, and flowers, which provide shelter and food for wild insects and other small animals. The seeds are mostly harvested by hand in nature, and the quantities are kept small enough that the local population is not affected. Seed confetti was developed by the product design students Hannah Hartmann and Philip Weyer. Contact: info[at]saatgutkonfetti.de.

 

The Laboratory for Table and Culinary Culture

The Laboratory for Table and Culinary Culture organizes events that range from social dinners, ad-hoc cuisine, eating design, and “Communikitchen.” The central element is the workshop-like kitchen at the Kunsthochschule Kassel, where students have the opportunity to help organize events. The team at the laboratory are concerned with questions like how preparing food promotes social interaction, or how table and culinary culture can be reconceived. Contact: foodlab.khs[at]gmail.com.

Studentische Initiativen

PANALOBBY

Die studentische Initiative PANALOBBY arbeitet seit 2015 an der Internationalisierung und Vernetzung der Kunsthochschule. Mit ihrem Beratungsangebot für internationale Studierende und Studieninteressierte, mit dem „Welcome Breakfast“ sowie mit ihren verschiedenen künstlerischen Projekten trägt PANALOBBY dazu bei, die internen Strukturen und Institutionen für internationale Studierende zu optimieren. Kontakt: info[at]panalobby.com.
 

Risowerkstatt

Die Risowerkstatt (Raum 0100, Atrium) ist ein studentisch organisiertes Drucklabor der Kunsthochschule. In der Werkstatt werden u.a. Poster, Flyer, Zines zu Materialpreisen in verschiedenen Rastern gedruckt. Neben besonderer Druck-Sonderfarben besitzt die Werkstatt eine Auswahl von Papieren. Kontakt: risowerkstatt[at]gmail.com.

 

Haus und Wirt

Der Ausstellungsraum Haus und Wirt (in der Frankfurter Straße, Kassel) wurde 2019 von Studierenden der Kunsthochschule gegründet. Er bietet Künstler*innen sowie Studierenden der Hochschule die Möglichkeit, Konzepte auszuprobieren und Werke der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Ob performativ, diskursiv, in Form einer Präsentation, einer klassischen Ausstellung oder als geschlossenes Schaufenster – der Eck-Raum mit seinen zwei großen Fensterfronten ist offen für unterschiedlichste Herangehensweisen.

 

TOKONOMA

Als Plattform für junge Kunst und Clubkultur veranstaltet TOKONOMA in Kassel Vorträge, Filme, Ausstellungen und Clubnächte. Ziel des Vereins ist die Reflexion zeitgenössischer Themen der Kunst, des Films und der Musik und die Förderung junger Künstler*innen. Kontakt: info[at]supertokonoma.de.

 

Stellwerk

Das Stellwerk im Kasseler KulturBahnhof ist ein studentisch organisierter Ausstellungsraum. Das Stellwerk versteht sich zum einen als Plattform für junge Künstler*innen, deren Arbeiten bisher noch nicht gezeigt wurden. Zum anderen werden bereits etablierte Künstler*innen präsentiert. Zudem soll die Vernetzung mit Künstler*innen in Kassel und außerhalb der Stadt gefördert werden.
Kontakt: stellwerkkassel[at]gmail.com.

 

BIOLAB

BIOLAB hat eine neue Arbeits- und Forschungsumgebung erschaffen, die den Studierenden die Möglichkeit bietet, sich gestalterisch, künstlerisch und wissenschaftlich mit lebenden Organismen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Design, Kunst und Biologie auseinanderzusetzen. Gemeinsam mit Netzwerkpartner*innen bietet BIOLAB Lehr- und Lernveranstaltungen und eine Plattform zum Austausch an. Praxisorientierte Projekte können im Lab durchgeführt werden.
Kontakt: mail[at]biolab-kassel.de.

 

Saatgutkonfetti

Saatgutkonfetti ist kompostierbares Konfetti als Träger für bis zu 24 heimische Pflanzenarten. Darunter wilde Gräser, Kräuter und Blumen, die Heimat und Nahrung bieten für Wildinsekten und andere Kleintiere. Die meist von Hand gesammelten Erntemengen in der Natur werden so gering gehalten, dass die lokale Population nicht beeinträchtigt wird. Entwickelt wurde Saatgutkonfetti von den Produktdesign-Studierenden Hannah Hartmann und Philip Weyer.
Kontakt: info[at]saatgutkonfetti.de.

 

Das Labor für Tisch- und Esskultur

Das Labor für Tisch- und Esskultur organisiert Veranstaltungen, die sich zwischen den Bereichen Social Dinner, AdHoc-Cuisine, Eating Design und Communikitchen bewegen. Herzstück ist die werkstattähnliche Küche der Kunsthochschule Kassel, wo die Studierenden die Möglichkeit haben, Veranstaltungen mitzugestalten. Das Labor-Team beschäftigt sich u.a. mit den Fragen, wie die Zubereitung von Essen ein soziales Miteinander fördert, wie eine Tisch- und Esskultur neu gestaltet werden kann. Kontakt: foodlab.khs[at]gmail.com.