Portrait of the Kunsthochschule Kassel

The North Building, designed by the architect Paul Friedrich Posenenske, comprises a lecture theatre, the student refectory, workshops and the studios of the degree programme in Visual Communication. © Nicolas Wefers

The Kunsthochschule Kassel is one of the few internationally oriented art colleges that bring together scientific, artistic and art education degree programmes. As it has a right to award doctorates and Habilitationen (post-doctoral lecturing qualifications), it is also one of a select handful of art colleges in Germany with university status. Around 1,000 students including master-class students are currently enrolled on degree programmes in Visual Arts, Art Education, Art History and Theory, Product Design and Visual Communication at the Kunsthochschule Kassel (KHK).

In addition to facilities specific to degree programmes, the KHK offers students interdisciplinary workshops for all thought and work processes.  With its outstanding number of workshops, 13 in all, it thereby continues the Bauhaus traditions of combining craft and artistic skills constructively with one another.

The departmental library (BB8) at the Kunsthochschule Kassel supports teaching and studying with its diverse art, design and media collections. It is housed in the building designed by Paul Friedrich Posenenske in 1962 and close to the Karlsaue, as are a three-storey lecture theatre building, the student refectory, various workshops and the studios of the degree programme in Visual Communication. This compartmental model of the tripartite university building has developed over the decades into the Kunsthochschule's architectural emblem. The Kunsthochschule's visual identity is also based on Posenenske's architecture in that it makes the raster system of the building complex the graphical starting point for official communication.

"The Social Shot" is a mobile bar that uses Facebook data records to calculate personality profiles from which it then mixes individual drinks: http://social-shot.com

Interdisciplinarity + Individuality

Artistic freedom is combined with scholarly thinking at the Kunsthochschule Kassel. This allows students to become acquainted with art and culture from different perspectives. We offer committed and motivated people the best conditions in which to develop their talents and diverse opportunities for interdisciplinary work beyond the boundaries of individual artistic disciplines. Students at the Kunsthochschule Kassel are able to exercise their own responsibility in choosing how they wish to combine artistic freedom with the scholarly teaching programme. Qualified professors from all specialist areas support them in this choice through close collaboration.

 

 

Collection of working models and process fragments from the "Crystal Lab" project, which is engaged in growing crystals and preserving the structures that have evolved. ©Nils Oertel

Impetus + Innovations

The Kunsthochschule Kassel sees itself as a place of constant change in which students are involved through the impetus that they provide and their search for innovations. They not only continue to develop their specialisms, mature as persons and are prepared for the professional world, but they also contribute, through their artistic work, to the constant further development of the Kunsthochschule Kassel. Students are selected here according to potential and personality. Anyone wishing to pursue his or her very own artistic path is supported and challenged here. We are looking for students that fit in with us: with an art college steeped in tradition, on the one hand, and one that, on the other hand, welcomes personalities that break down accustomed perceptions and are intent on seeking new forms of expression.

 

 

 

Guided tour (Lena Katharina Reuter) for a work by the master-class student, Azar Pajuhandeh, who examines the Iranian "Ashura" ceremony and has developed her own artistic position. © Nicolas Wefers

Internationalism

International exchange is an essential part of the Kunsthochschule Kassel's self-image. In the context of the ERASMUS programme, we maintain exchanges with Belgium, England, France, Spain, Portugal, Turkey and Italy.

During their study abroad at the Kunsthochschule Kassel, students from Spain, Italy, China, Korea, Japan, the United Kingdom, Bulgaria and other countries not only obtain insights into related or foreign cultures, but can also set their own thematic priorities.

Networking
The Kunsthochschule Kassel establishes links between academic theory and professional practice: spin-offs and different kinds of cooperation arrangements connect the Kunsthochschule Kassel with its cultural and business surroundings. The intense cooperation with partner universities and other cultural centres like the Staatstheater Kassel (Kassel State Theatre), the museums in the Hessen/Kassel museum scene, the Kasseler Kunstverein (Kassel Art Association), the Landeswohlfahrtsverband Hessen (Hessen State Welfare Association) etc. also increases the practical orientation and professional qualifications of the higher education courses.

The Illustration/Comic class was awarded the prize for the best student comic publication for its publication "Mover" at the 16th International Comic Salon (CSE). © Georg Pöhlein, 2014

Award-Winning

Prizes and awards underline the quality and diversity of the education at the Kunsthochschule Kassel. Teachers and students across all degree programmes have been honoured at a host of national and international competitions for their short films and animated films, publications, initiatives or products. For example, they received the audience award of the German GOLDENER SPATZ children's media festival, the Studio Hamburg Young Talent Prize, the Comic Salon Erlangen's 2014 Max and Moritz prize for the best student publication, the prize for the "Best Youth Game" at the German Computer Game Awards, the Red Dot Award or the Design Prize for Germany. They were also among the prize-winners of competitions like the Next Generation Short Tiger at the film festival in Cannes, the Berlin International Film Festival, Most Beautiful German Books, or were awarded the Hessian University Prize for Excellence in Teaching for the best student initiative (TOKONOMA - Platform for Young Art and Club Culture in Kassel).

A glance back into the past shows that the Kunsthochschule was already busily industrious in the second half of the last century: for example, Günter Kupetz, Professor of Consumer Goods Design, developed the pearl design for mineral water bottles in the 1970s. The artist Karl Oskar Blase, Professor of Art and Visual Communication at the KHK from 1966 to 1992, designed the visual appearance of documenta on several occasions and was represented there through his works. In the 1980s, the American Oscar for Animated Cartoons was awarded twice to students of the Kunsthochschule Kassel: to Wolfgang und Christoph Lauenstein, for "Balance", and to Tyron Montgomery and Thomas Stellmach, for "Quest".

Porträt der Kunsthochschule Kassel

Die Kunsthochschule Kassel zählt zu den wenigen international orientierten Kunsthochschulen, die wissenschaftliche, künstlerische und kunstpädagogische Studiengänge zusammenbringen. Mit dem Promotions- und Habilitationsrecht gehört sie darüber hinaus zu einer Handvoll ausgewählter künstlerischer Hochschulen in Deutschland mit Universitätsstatus. Etwa 1000 Studierende einschließlich der Meisterschüler*innen sind derzeit in den Studiengängen Bildende Kunst, Kunstpädagogik, Kunstwissenschaft, Produktdesign und Visuelle Kommunikation an der Kunsthochschule Kassel eingeschrieben.

Neben den studiengangspezifischen Einrichtungen bietet die KHK den Studierenden disziplinübergreifende Werkstätten für alle Denk- und Arbeitsprozesse. Mit der herausragenden Anzahl von insgesamt 13 Werkstätten setzt sie damit Traditionen des Bauhauses fort, handwerkliche und künstlerische Kompetenzen konstruktiv miteinander zu verbinden.

Die Bereichsbibliothek (BB8) in der Kunsthochschule Kassel unterstützt Lehre und Studium mit ihren vielfältigen Beständen in Kunst, Design und Medien. Sie ist ebenso wie ein dreigeschossiges Hörsaalgebäude, die Mensa, diverse Werkstätten und die Ateliers des  Studiengangs Visuelle Kommunikation im Gebäude von Paul Friedrich Posenenske (Baujahr 1962) an der Karlsaue untergebracht. Dieses Kompartiment des dreigliedrigen Hochschulbaus, hat sich über die Jahrzehnte zu einem architektonischen Wahrzeichen der Kunsthochschule entwickelt. Auch die visuelle Identität der Kunsthochschule orientiert sich an Posenenskes Architektur, indem sie das Rastersystem des Gebäudekomplexes zum grafischen Ausgangspunkt offizieller Kommunikation macht.

Interdisziplinarität + Individualität

An der Kunsthochschule Kassel ist künstlerische Freiheit vereint mit wissenschaftlichem Denken und erlaubt den Studierenden, Kunst und Kultur aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln kennenzulernen. Wir bieten engagierten und motivierten Menschen beste Voraussetzungen zur Entfaltung ihrer Begabungen und vielfältige Möglichkeiten interdisziplinärer Arbeit über die Grenzen einzelner künstlerischer Disziplinen hinweg. Studierende der Kunsthochschule Kassel können in eigener Verantwortung entscheiden, wie sie die künstlerische Freiheit mit dem wissenschaftlichen Lehrangebot verknüpfen wollen. Qualifizierte Professorinnen und Professoren aller Fachgebiete unterstützen sie dabei in enger Zusammenarbeit.

Impulse + Innovationen

Die Kunsthochschule Kassel versteht sich als Ort des ständigen Wandels, an dem die Studierenden durch ihre Impulse und die Suche nach Innovationen beteiligt sind. Sie entwickeln sich nicht nur fachlich weiter, reifen persönlich und werden auf die Berufswelt vorbereitet - durch ihre künstlerische Arbeit tragen sie auch zur stetigen Weiterentwicklung der Kunsthochschule Kassel bei. Studierende werden hier nach Potential und Persönlichkeit ausgewählt. Wer seinen ganz eigenen künstlerischen Weg gehen möchte, findet bei uns Förderung und Herausforderung. Wir suchen Studierende, die zu uns passen: einer Kunsthochschule mit Tradition einerseits, andererseits eine, an der Persönlichkeiten willkommen sind, die gewohnte Wahrnehmungen aufbrechen und nach neuen Ausdrucksformen suchen wollen.

Internationalität

Internationaler Austausch ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Selbstverständnisses der Kunsthochschule Kassel. Im Rahmen des Erasmus-Programms pflegen wir u.a. einen Austausch mit Belgien, England, Frankreich, Spanien, Portugal, der Türkei und Italien.

Studierende aus Spanien, Italien, China, Korea, Japan, England, Bulgarien und anderen Ländern erhalten während ihres Auslandsstudiums an der Kunsthochschule Kassel nicht nur Einblicke in verwandte oder fremde Kulturen, sondern können eigene thematische Schwerpunkte setzen.

Vernetzung

Die Kunsthochschule Kassel knüpft Verbindungen zwischen Lehre und beruflicher Praxis: Ausgründungen und vielfältige Kooperationen vernetzen die Kunsthochschule Kassel mit ihrem kulturellen und wirtschaftlichen Umfeld. Die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Partnerhochschulen und weiteren kulturellen Einrichtungen wie dem Staatstheater Kassel, den Museen der Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel, dem Kasseler Kunstverein, dem Landeswohlfahrtsverband Hessen u.a. erhöht zugleich die Praxisorientierung und Berufsqualifizierung des Studiums. 

Mit Auszeichnung

Preise und Auszeichnungen unterstreichen die Qualität und Vielfalt der Ausbildung an der Kunsthochschule Kassel. So wurden Lehrende und Studierende quer durch alle Studiengänge bei einer Vielzahl von nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerben für ihre Kurz- und Animationsfilme, Publikationen, Initiativen oder Produkte ausgezeichnet. Sie erhielten z.B. den Publikumspreis des deutschen Kinder-Medien-Festivals GOLDENER SPATZ, den Studio Hamburg Nachwuchspreis, den Max und Moritz-Preis 2014 des Comic Salons Erlangen für die beste studentische Publikation, den Preis für das „Beste Jugendspiel“ beim Deutschen Computerspielspreis, den red dot award oder den Designpreis Deutschland. Sie waren auch unter den Preisträgern von Wettbewerben wie dem Next Generation Short Tiger beim Filmfest in Cannes, der Berlinale, Schönste Deutsche Bücher oder bekamen den Hessischen Hochschulpreis für Exzellenz in der Lehre für die beste studentische Initiative (TOKONOMA - Plattform für junge Kunst und Clubkultur in Kassel).

Ein Blick zurück in die Vergangenheit verrät, dass die Kunsthochschule bereits in der zweiten Hälfte des vergangenen Jahrhunderts relativ umtriebig war: Günter Kupetz beispielsweise, Professor für Gebrauchsgüterdesign, entwickelte das Perlmuster-Design der Sprudelflaschen in den 70er Jahren. Der Künstler Karl Oskar Blase, von 1966 bis 1992 Professor für Kunst und Visuelle Kommunikation an der KHK, gestaltete mehrmals das Erscheinungsbild der documenta und war mit seinen Arbeiten dort vertreten. In den 80er Jahren ging der amerikanische Oscar für Trickfilm sogar zweimal an Studierende der Kunsthochschule Kassel: an Wolfgang und Christoph Lauenstein für „Balance“ und an Tyron Montgomery und Thomas Stellmach für „Quest“.