Art History and Theory – Application for the Bachelor's and Master's Degree Programme

Bachelor's Degree Programme

Entry Requirements

To be admitted to the Bachelor's degree programme, applicants are required to have a university or university of applied sciences entrance qualification or a professional qualification. Furthermore, they must provide evidence that their knowledge of English is at level B1 of the "European Council's Common European Framework of Reference for Languages" (CEFR). Further information about this is available here:

Application/ Enrolment

Students may begin their studies only as of the winter semester. The degree programme has no entry restrictions.

The elective subsidiary subjects have no entry restrictions. Proof of language competence must be provided for the language subsidiary subjects of English, French and Spanish, see

General Information on Study Programmes at the University of Kassel

Applicants with German certificates can enrol online with the University of Kassel (see Access to University of Kassel Online Application (activated for the WS: from 1 June) Enrolment period: 1 June to 1 September

Master's Degree Programme

Entry Requirements

B.A. degree or equivalent in Art Theory / Art History with a standard period of study of 6 semesters or a qualification equivalent in subject matter or other professional qualification from a university with a high proportion of specialist modules in History and Theory of Art comprising at least 60 credits.

Knowledge of languages: English (level B1 [CEFR]) and normally comparable knowledge of another foreign language relevant to History and Theory of Art as well as proof of knowledge of Latin (level B1) no later than by the time of registration for the Master's.

Proof of an academically and professionally relevant work placement of at least eight weeks (similarly, participation in exhibition projects, in a gallery, a publisher's etc.) or a workshop course or conduct of a tutorial at the Kunsthochschule.

Submission of a cover letter explaining the applicant's profile and the opportunities afforded by the university location.

Application Conditions

Summer semester up to 1 March, winter semester up to 1 September. No tuition fees are charged.

Degree

M.A., Master of Arts. Possibility of a subject-specific doctorate. The Master's lasts four semesters, it being possible to integrate a semester abroad.

Further Information about the Master's Degree in Art History and Theory

Teachers on the degree programme in History and Theory of Art offer a subject-specific consultation for prospective and current students in their office hours or by arrangement.

Kunstwissenschaft – Bewerbung für den Bachelor- und den Masterstudiengang

Bachelorstudiengang

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium sind die Allgemeine Hochschulreife oder die Fachhochschulreife oder eine berufliche Qualifikation. Weiterhin sind Englischkenntnisse auf dem Sprachniveau B 1 des "Gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen des Europarates" (GER) nachzuweisen. Mehr dazu:

Bewerbung bzw. Einschreibung

Der Studienbeginn ist nur zum Wintersemester möglich. Der Studiengang ist nicht zulassungsbeschränkt.

Die wählbaren Nebenfächer haben keine Zulassungsbeschränkungen. Für die sprachlichen Nebenfächer Anglistik, Französisch und Spanisch müssen Sprachnachweise erbracht werden, siehe

Allgemeine Studieninformation der Universität Kassel

Die Einschreibung mit deutschen Zeugnissen erfolgt online bei der Universität Kassel, siehe Zugang zur Online-Bewerbung Uni Kassel  (Freigeschaltet für das WS: ab 1. Juni) Einschreibefrist: 01. Juni bis 01. September

Masterstudiengang

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

B.A.-Abschluss oder gleichwertiger Abschluss im Studiengang Kunstwissenschaft/ Kunstgeschichte mit einer Regelstudienzeit von 6 Semestern oder fachlich gleichwertiger Abschluss oder anderer berufsqualifizierender Hochschulabschluss mit einem hohen Anteil an kunstwissenschaftlichen Fachmodulen im Umfang von mindestens 60 Credits.

Sprachkenntnisse: Englisch (Niveau B1 [GER]) und in der Regel vergleichbare Kenntnisse einer weiteren, für das Fach Kunstwissenschaft relevanten Fremdsprache sowie bis spätestens zur Anmeldung zum Master Nachweis von Lateinkenntnissen (Niveau B1).

Nachweis von einem mindestens achtwöchigen studien- und berufsrelevanten Praktikum (ebenso Mitarbeit bei Ausstellungsprojekten, in einer Galerie, einem Verlag etc.) oder einem Werkstattkurs oder der Leitung eines Tutoriums an der Kunsthochschule.

Einreichen eines Motivationsschreibens mit Erläuterung zum Profil und den Möglichkeiten des Hochschulstandorts.

Bewerbungsbedingungen

Sommersemester bis zum 1. März, Wintersemester bis zum 1. September. Studiengebühren werden nicht erhoben.

Abschluss

M.A., Master of Arts. Möglichkeit einer fachspezifischen Promotion. Das Masterstudium dauert vier Semester, ein Auslandssemester kann integriert werden.

Weitere Informationen zum Masterstudiengang Kunstwissenschaft

Eine Fachberatung für Studieninteressierte und Studierende bieten die Dozenten des Studiengangs Kunstwissenschaft in den Sprechstunden oder nach Vereinbarung an.