Domicile: documenta City, Kassel

documenta is inextricably linked to the city of Kassel: the world's most important exhibition of contemporary art puts Kassel centre stage in the art world every five years. Away from the major art exhibition, smaller galleries, many of which are in the southern part of the city of Kassel, present the positions of innovative, young artists. It is often students and alumni of the Kunsthochschule Kassel that actively shape the city's cultural life by organizing exhibitions or establishing their own galleries or companies. Sophisticated programme cinemas complete the city's cultural offerings and, in addition to important international productions, regularly show the current films in the animated cartoon category in cooperation with the Kunsthochschule Kassel.

With round about 15 museums, the documenta city, Kassel, has the third-largest museum density in the Federal Republic of Germany. Old masters and modern artists can be viewed in a plethora of exhibitions. Schloss Wilhelmshöhe, for example, is home to the largest Rembrandt collection outside the Netherlands, while GRIMMWELT, which is scheduled to open in 2015, is dedicated to the life and work of the Brothers Grimm, who lived in Kassel for 30 years. Grimms' personal copies of the Children's and Household Tales of 1812/1815 are still located in the city and have been recorded in the "Memory of the World" UNESCO list since 2002. In 1779, the world's first building designed as a public museum opened in the form of the Museum Fridericianum; even today, as a central venue for contemporary art, it takes up, presents and negotiates significant positions and currents of art as well as socially relevant issues. Sudents of the Kunsthochschule Kassel have always been given an opportunity to gather their first experiences of the museum as a field of work by carrying out work placements or performing voluntary service in the local museums.

The Kunsthochschule Kassel is situated close to Kassel city centre on the edge of the Karlsaue, an urban, historical park. Shops and tram stops are located at the front of the building – behind it lies the city's green heart: a central and yet quiet location. There are many accommodation options in the immediate environment – centrally located and affordable. Living costs are lower in Kassel compared with other university cities. Thanks to the extremely well-developed local public transport network, all locations are easily accessible, including the long-distance railway station with ICE connection.

Wohnort: documenta–Stadt Kassel

Untrennbar mit der Stadt Kassel verbunden ist die documenta: Die weltweit bedeutendste Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst macht Kassel alle fünf Jahre zum Mittelpunkt der Kunstwelt. Fernab der großen Kunstschau präsentieren kleinere Galerien, viele davon in der Kasseler Südstadt, die Positionen innovativer, junger Kunstschaffender. Oftmals sind es die Studierenden und Alumni der Kunsthochschule Kassel, die das Kulturleben der Stadt aktiv gestalten, indem sie Ausstellungen organisieren, eigene Galerien oder Unternehmen gründen. Anspruchsvolle Programmkinos ergänzen das kulturelle Angebot der Stadt und zeigen neben bedeutenden internationalen Produktionen in Kooperation mit der Kunsthochschule Kassel regelmäßig die aktuellen Filme der Trickfilmklasse.

Die documenta–Stadt Kassel verfügt mit round about 15 Museen über die drittgrößte Museumsdichte der Bundesrepublik. Alte Meister und moderne Künstler lassen sich in einer Vielzahl von Ausstellungen betrachten. Das Schloss Wilhelmshöhe beherbergt beispielsweise die größte Rembrandt-Sammlung außerhalb der Niederlande, die GRIMMWELT, deren Eröffnung für 2015 geplant ist, widmet sich dem Leben und dem Werk der Brüder Grimm, die 30 Jahre lang in Kassel lebten. Die Grimm´schen Handexemplare der Kinder- und Hausmärchen von 1812/1815 befinden sich noch heute in der Stadt und sind seit 2005 in der UNESCO-Liste "Memory of the World" erfasst. 1779 eröffnete mit dem Museum Fridericianum der weltweit erste als öffentliches Museum konzipierte Bau, der noch heute als zentraler Ort der Gegenwartskunst signifikante Positionen und Strömungen der Kunst wie gesellschaftlich relevante Fragestellungen aufgreift, präsentiert und verhandelt. Studierenden der Kunsthochschule Kassel bietet sich seit jeher die Möglichkeit, in den Museen vor Ort bei Praktika oder Volontariaten erste Erfahrungen im Arbeitsfeld Museum zu sammeln.

Nahe der Kasseler Innenstadt am Rande der Karlsaue, einer innerstädtischen, historischen Parkanlage, liegt die Kunsthochschule Kassel. Geschäfte und Tram-Haltestellen befinden sich vor dem Haus – dahinter das grüne Herz  der Stadt: zentral und doch ruhig gelegen. In der direkten Umgebung gibt es viele Wohnmöglichkeiten – zentral gelegen und bezahlbar. Verglichen mit anderen Universitätsstädten sind die Lebenshaltungskosten in Kassel niedriger. Durch das hervorragend ausgebaute ÖPNV-Netz sind alle Orte gut erreichbar, auch der Fernbahnhof mit ICE-Anbindung.