The Study Programme in Visual Communication at the Kunsthochschule Kassel

Contributions to Designing Social Reality

The degree programme in Visual Communication at the Kunsthochschule Kassel is organized as a project study programme with a view to imparting creative and artistic methods in various media areas. It aims to enable students to develop significant contributions to the design of our social reality by encouraging them to think in an extensively practical, analytical and critical manner and to examine the functions of art and culture, technology, science and market. In a decidedly transdisciplinary study structure, the foundation for new perspectives and approaches is worked out through a combination of theory and practice, with students being encouraged to develop an individual design stance and their own work methods.

In addition to subject-specific content and methods, the degree programme in Visual Communication places particular emphasis on developing students' ability to work in a team beyond the boundaries of their own subject  and to integrate aspects of social responsibility into their own projects. Collaborative ventures and innovations are constituted not only between the specializations, but also across the degree programme: in an interactive, multifaceted, exciting, unregimented, free and obliging manner. A manageable number of students makes it possible to provide targeted and constructive criticism, which allows students' own work to grow.

In the first year of their studies, students complete a transdisciplinary foundation course, which teaches them design foundations and techniques from different visual media. From the third semester onwards, students choose their specializations.

The following can be selected as specializations:

  • Animation
  • Film and Motion Picture
  • Film and Television
  • Photography
  • Illustration and Comic New Media  
  • Editorial Design
  • Theory and Practice of Visual Communication

Duration of Studies, DegreeThe study programme comprises 10 semesters and ends with a final project and final project defence. The final project consists of a written theoretical and a practical part. Once a student has passed the final examination, a graduation certificate in respect of a successfully completed university-level art study programme equivalent to a Master's degree is issued.

Particularly gifted individual students may be nominated as master-class students and given an opportunity to work for a further two semesters at the University.

Das Studium der Visuellen Kommunikation an der Kunsthochschule Kassel

Beiträge zur Gestaltung der gesellschaftlichen Realität

Der Studiengang Visuelle Kommunikation an der Kunsthochschule Kassel ist als Projektstudium organisiert, um gestalterische und künstlerische Methoden in verschiedenen medialen Bereichen zu vermitteln. Er soll die Studierenden befähigen, wesentliche Beiträge zur Gestaltung unserer gesellschaftlichen Realität zu entwickeln, indem sie ermutigt werden, umfassend praktisch, analytisch und kritisch zu denken und sich mit den Funktionen von Kunst und Kultur, Technologie, Wissenschaft und Markt zu beschäftigen. In einer entschieden transdisziplinären Studienstruktur wird in Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis die Grundlage für neue Sicht- und Vorgehensweisen erarbeitet sowie die Entwicklung einer individuellen gestalterischen Haltung und eigener Arbeitsansätze gefördert.

Neben den fachspezifischen Inhalten und Methoden legt der Studiengang Visuelle Kommunikation besonderes Gewicht auf die Entwicklung der Fähigkeit, über die Grenzen des eigenen Faches hinaus im Team zu arbeiten und Aspekte gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung in die eigenen Projekte einzubinden. Kooperationen und Innovationen begründen sich nicht nur zwischen den Studienschwerpunkten sondern auch studiengangsübergreifend: interaktiv, vielfältig, spannend, wenig verschult, frei und verbindlich. Eine überschaubare Menge an Studierenden ermöglicht gezielte und konstruktive Kritik, an welcher die eigene Arbeit wachsen kann.

Im ersten Studienjahr absolvieren die Studierenden einen fächerübergreifenden Basisunterricht, der ihnen gestalterische Grundlagen und Techniken verschiedener visueller Medien vermittelt. Ab dem dritten Semester wählen die Studierenden ihre Studienschwerpunkte.

Als Studienschwerpunkte können gewählt werden:

  • Film und bewegtes Bild
  • Film und Fernsehen
  • Fotografie
  • Illustration und Comic
  • Neue Medien
  • Redaktionelles Gestalten
  • Theorie und Praxis der Visuellen Kommunikation
  • Trickfilm

Studiendauer, -abschluss

Das Studium umfasst 10 Semester und wird mit einer Abschlussarbeit und einem Abschlusskolloquium beendet. Die Abschlussarbeit besteht aus einem schriftlich-theoretischen und einem praktischen Teil. Nach bestandener Abschlussprüfung wird ein Abschlusszeugnis über ein erfolgreiches universitäres künstlerisches Studium ausgestellt, das einem Master-Abschluss entspricht.

Auf Grund besonderer Begabung können einzelne Studierende zu Meisterschüler*innen ernannt werden und erhalten Gelegenheit weitere zwei Semester an der Hochschule zu arbeiten.