The Kunsthochschule through Changing Times

The roots of the Kunsthochschule Kassel go back to the 18th century. On 18 October 1777, "L‘Académie de Peinture et de Sculpture de Cassel" was ceremoniously inaugurated by Frederick ll, Landgrave of Hesse-Cassel. In the course of its over 238-year history, the  Kunsthochschule Kassel has undergone many changes, responded, in its teaching programme, to the currents of the time and, through new pedagogical approaches, put its stamp on training at other art academies. Then as now, important artists such as Johann Heinrich Tischbein the Elder, from the famous Tischbein painter family, or - centuries later - Arnold Bode, the founder of documenta, taught here.

The current structure of the Kunsthochschule Kassel can be traced back to the merger, in the 1970s, of the Staatliche Hochschule für bildende Künste (State University of Visual Arts) under the direction of Arnold Bode with the Werkkunstschule (School of Applied Arts) under the direction of Jupp Ernst to form the  Hochschule für Bildende Künste (University of Visual Arts - HBK). On 2 August 1971, the HBK was integrated into the Comprehensive University of Kassel and the disciplines of Art, Product Design, Architecture and Visual Communication became autonomous functional units as departments. In 1997, the Hesse Ministry for Art and Science decided, together with the Comprehensive University of Kassel, to combine the above departments, with the exception of Architecture , with the degree programmes in History and Theory of Art and Art Education to create the Kunsthochschule Kassel in its current form.

In the 2008 winter semester, the Kunsthochschule Kassel gradually converted the degree programme in History and Theory of Art to the international standards of Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes. Students of Art Education (Gymnasien (upper secondary/grammar schools), Hauptschulen (lower secondary schools) and Realschulen (intermediate secondary schools)) take the First State Examination on completion of the standard study period. The degree programmes in Visual Arts and Visual Communication have decided to adhere to the proven concept of the art degree, just as the degree programme in Product Design continues to offer the Diplom degree.

A Historical Review of the Kunsthochschule

1777
On 18 October 1777, "L‘Académie de Peinture et de Sculpture de Cassel" is opened by Frederick II, Landgrave of Hesse-Cassel. The independent academy's mission is to surround the Landgrave with artistic splendour and to compete with the other courtly academies.

1779
The Academy receives a statute. The foundation document and the initial regulations for the Academy of Painters and Sculptors, dated 22 May 1779, emphasizes the Academy as a society that cultivates and promotes art, while the Academy as a teaching institution is of only secondary importance.

1781
The Department of Architecture, which has hitherto remained with the Collegium Carolinum (founded in the 1760s), is integrated into the Academy.

1806-1813
During the French occupation, hardly any teaching activity takes place, and the painting collection is transported to France, which effectively means the withdrawal of the most important teaching material.

1832
Responsibility for the Academy is henceforth in the hands of the government and all teachers are subsequently placed under obligation as public servants.

1838
A new directive shifts the priorities of the Academy towards an art teaching institution, which provides tuition and education in visual arts. The art society which aims to arouse and promote artistic striving and aesthetic sense takes a back seat.

1869
On 24 May 1869, the Werkkunstschule is created by Prussia's Minister for Trade, to counteract the "... shameful fact that our industry is poor in designs of its own invention, as it limits itself to imitating foreign figures that in no way always comply with the laws of beauty." An essential component of the Werkkunstschule is also the training of art educators.

1880
The Art Academy completes a clear-cut separation between academic tasks and training in commercial art.  This leads subsequently (around 1900) to an expansion of the Kunstgewerbeschule (School of Arts and Crafts). A significant new aspect is the introduction of workshops. The increasing importance of industrial production and technological innovations renders workshops indispensable to a forward-looking educational institution.

1920-1924
In keeping with its reform concepts, the Prussian government contemplates, but does not implement, a merger between the Werkkunstschule and the Art Academy. In the 1920s, the Academy also acquires workshops with a view to embracing the increasing importance of crafts in art.

1931-1942
In view of the global economic crisis, the Prussian government decided to close the art academies in Kassel, Wroclaw and Königsberg in December 1931 - in the context of the emergency decrees by Chancellor Brüning. In March 1932, the Kassel Academy ceased its teaching activities, with Prof. Kay H. Nebel alone continuing his tuition in painting. The Pedagogic Academy, which was set up on a supplementary basis in 1930, was also closed again. In 1933, the new Prussian government approved a transitional continuation of the Academy, which was greeted with high-profile celebrations in Kassel, as the first step to its complete restoration. In addition to Nebel's painting tuition, other individual tuition was resumed as "a quasi-private continuation"; and several unused studios were made available to selected former pupils of the three subject areas of painting, sculpture and architecture, in order to prevent the premises from being impounded. Later, the Ministry responsible would also send master-class students from other academies as scholarship holders to Kassel. Other studios were rented out to freelance artists. However, this "transitional situation", which was primarily supported by the personal commitment of various teachers and professors, was to become a permanent fixture, which meant that the heralded restoration of the Academy continued to drag its heels.

On commencement of the Second World War, all German art academies were closed, with the main building in Kassel being impounded as a backup military hospital. Following initial slight bomb damage in August 1942, the buildings were flooded in May 1943 following the destruction of the Eder dam and damaged to such an extent in the major offensive in October 1943 that they could no longer be used.

1946
The Kunstgewerbeschule is re-opened after the war under the name "Schule für Handwerk und Kunst" (School for Crafts and Art).

1947
On 1 September 1947, a decision is taken to re-open the Art Academy under the name "Werkakademie (Craft Academy)". Teaching starts with 61 students. The main idea behind changing the name of the Art Academy to Werkakademie was informed by the principles of combining activities in the fine arts with applied areas such as had existed since the Bauhaus period. The main focus, however, continues to be on activity in the fine arts.

1960
The Statute of the "State University of Visual Arts" applicable from 8 September 1960 onwards emphasizes the mission to train students in all kinds of artistic design as well as applicants wishing to become art teachers in secondary schools. Since this time, the Kunsthochschule has been the only institution in Hesse to provide training to become an art teacher.

1962
Reconstruction of the Werkkunstschule in the Karlsaue, with the ideas for research and teaching in the applied arts being put into practice in the building. Together with teachers and architects, Director Jupp Ernst set out to apply the principles of aesthetic form from the perspectives of teaching and research practice, developing and propagating to the design of the building, the selection of materials, forms and dimensions of furnishings, equipment etc. The building is classified as outstanding in international journals and committees and bears testimony to the penetration of the world of living and work by principles of comprehensive design.

1968
The State University of Visual Arts under the directorship of Arnold Bode relocates to the newly erected building in the Karlsaue right next to the Werkkunstschule, which, at that time, was under the directorship of Jupp Ernst. In the 1960s, the Werkkunstschule is one of the most renowned international locations for Design and Design Training, cultivating numerous contacts with the USA and with former Bauhaus teachers.

1970
On 1 April 1970, the Kunsthochschule merges with the Werkkunstschule. The aim is to effect a partial revocation of the separation between the disciplines and to press ahead with a reconciliation between fine and applied arts, for all their differences. Interdisciplinarity comes to the fore as the watchword for a changing academic landscape.

1971
On 2 August 1971, Kassel University of Visual Arts is integrated into the Comprehensive University of Kassel and Art, Product Design, Architecture and Visual Communication become autonomous functional units in the form of departments.

1977
As of the summer 1977, Architecture moves out of the buildings on the Karlsaue and is housed on Holländischer Platz. The separation that already existed, in terms of content, between Architecture and artistic degree programmes is now completed in spatial terms.

2000
Together with the Comprehensive University of Kassel, the Hesse Ministry of Art and Science decides to combine the departments of Art (Fine Arts, History and Theory of Art, Art Education), Product Design and Visual Communication to form the Kunsthochschule Kassel.

Die Kunsthochschule im Wandel der Zeit

Die Wurzeln der Kunsthochschule Kassel reichen bis in das 18. Jahrhundert zurück. Am 18. Oktober 1777 wurde die "L'Académie de Peinture et de Sculpture de Cassel" von Landgraf Friedrich ll., von Hessen-Cassel feierlich eröffnet. Im Laufe ihrer über 238–jährigen Geschichte erfuhr die Kunsthochschule Kassel viele Wandlungen, reagierte in ihrem Lehrangebot auf die Strömungen der Zeit und prägte mit neuen pädagogischen Ansätzen die Ausbildung an anderen Kunstakademien. Damals wie heute lehrten hier bedeutende Künstler: wie zum Beispiel Johann Heinrich Tischbein der Ältere aus der bekannten Malerfamilie Tischbein oder - Jahrhunderte später - der documenta-Gründer Arnold Bode.

Die heutige Struktur der Kunsthochschule Kassel ist zurückzuführen auf den Zusammenschluss der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste unter Leitung von Arnold Bode mit der Werkkunstschule unter der Leitung von Jupp Ernst in den 1970er–Jahren zur HBK. Am 2. August 1971 wurde die Hochschule für Bildende  Künste Kassel in die Gesamthochschule Kassel integriert und die Bereiche Kunst, Produktdesign, Architektur und Visuelle Kommunikation wurden als Fachbereiche eigenständige Funktionseinheiten. Im Jahr 1997 beschloss das hessische Ministerium für Kunst und Wissenschaft gemeinsam mit der Gesamthochschule Kassel die Zusammenfassung der genannten Fachbereiche, mit Ausnahme des Fachbereiches Architektur, mit den Studiengängen Kunstwissenschaft und Kunstpädagogik zur Kunsthochschule Kassel in ihrer heutigen Gestalt.

Im Wintersemester 2008 hat die Kunsthochschule Kassel den Studiengang Kunstwissenschaft schrittweise auf die internationalen Standards der Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge umgestellt. Studierende der Kunstpädagogik (Gymnasien, Haupt- und Realschulen) legen nach der regulären Studienzeit die Erste Staatsprüfung ab. Die Studiengänge Bildende Kunst und Visuelle Kommunikation haben sich entschieden, am bewährten Konzept des künstlerischen Abschlusses festzuhalten, so wie der Studiengang Produktdesign weiterhin den Diplomabschluss anbietet.

Die Kunsthochschule im historischen Rückblick

1777
Am 18. Oktober 1777 wird die "L'Académie de Peinture et de Sculpture de Cassel" vom Landgraf Friedrich II, von Hessen-Cassel eröffnet. Die Aufgabe der selbständigen Akademie ist, den Landgrafen mit künstlerischem Glanz zu umgeben und mit den anderen höfischen Akademien zu wetteifern.

1779
Die Akademie erhält eine Satzung. Der Gründungsbrief und das erste Reglement für die Maler- und Bildhauerakademie vom 22. Mai 1779 betont die Akademie als kunstpflegende und kunstfördernde Gesellschaft, während die Akademie als Lehranstalt nur eine untergeordnete Rolle spielt.

1781
Die bisher am Collegium Carolinum (in den 69er Jahren gegründet) verbliebene Architekturabteilung wird in die Akademie integriert.

1806-1813
Während der französischen Besatzung findet kaum Unterrichtstätigkeit statt und die Gemäldesammlung wird nach Frankreich transportiert, was faktisch den Entzug des wichtigsten Lehrmittels bedeutet.

1832
Die Verantwortung für die Akademie liegt von nun an in den Händen der Regierung und in der Folge werden alle Lehrenden als Staatsdiener verpflichtet.

1838
Ein neues Regulativ verschiebt die Schwerpunkte der Akademie zugunsten der Kunstlehranstalt, die Unterricht und Erziehung in den bildenden Künsten erteilt. Die Kunstgesellschaft, die das künstlerische Streben und den ästhetischen Sinn wecken und fördern soll, tritt in den Hintergrund.

1869
Am 24. Mai 1869 wird vom Handelsminister Preußens die Werkkunstschule ins Leben gerufen, um der "... beschämenden Tatsache, dass unsere Industrie arm ist an Mustern eigener Erfindung, da sie sich darauf beschränkt, fremde, keineswegs immer den Gesetzen der Schönheit entsprechende Gebilde nachzuahmen." entgegenzuwirken. Wesentlicher Bestandteil der Werkkunstschule ist auch die Ausbildung der Kunsterzieher.

1880
Die Kunstakademie vollzieht eine eindeutige Trennung zwischen akademischen Aufgaben und der Ausbildung in gewerblicher Kunst. Dies führt in der Folge (um 1900) zum Ausbau der Kunstgewerbeschule. Wesentlicher neuer Aspekt ist die Einführung von Werkstätten. Mit der zunehmenden Bedeutung industrieller Fertigung und technischer Neuerungen sind Werkstätten für eine zukunftsweisende Ausbildungsstätte unentbehrlich.

1920-1924
Entsprechend der Reformvorstellungen der Preußischen Regierung wird eine Fusion zwischen Werkkunstschule und Kunstakademie erwogen aber nicht umgesetzt. In den zwanziger Jahren erhält auch die Akademie Werkstätten, um der zunehmenden Bedeutung des handwerklichen in der Kunst gerecht zu werden.

1931-1942
Angesichts der Weltwirtschaftskrise beschloss die preußische Regierung im Dezember 1931 die Schließung der Kunstakademien in Kassel, Breslau und Königsberg - im Rahmen der Notverordnungen des Reichskanzlers Brüning. Im März 1932 stellte die Kasseler Akademie ihren Lehrbetrieb ein, allein Prof. Kay H. Nebel setzte seinen Unterricht in Malerei fort. Auch die 1930 ergänzend eingerichtete Pädagogische Akademie wurde wieder geschlossen.1933 billigte die neue preußische Regierung einen übergangsweisen Fortbestand der Akademie, was man in Kassel öffentlichkeitswirksam feierte - als ersten Schritt zu ihrer vollständigen Wiederherstellung. Zusätzlich zum Malunterricht Nebels wurde einzelner weiterer Unterricht als "gleichsam private Fortführung" wieder aufgenommen; und mehrere ungenutzte Ateliers stellte man ausgewählten früheren Schülern der drei Fachrichtungen Malerei, Bildhauerei und Architektur zur Verfügung, um eine Beschlagnahmung der Räume zu verhindern. Später schickte das zuständige Ministerium auch Meisterschüler anderer Akademien als Stipendiaten nach Kassel. Weitere Ateliers wurden an freischaffende Künstler vermietet. Diese "Übergangssituation", die in erster Linie vom persönlichen Engagement verschiedener Lehrer und Professoren getragen war, blieb jedoch dauerhaft bestehen, und die angekündigte Wiederherstellung der Akademie ließ weiter auf sich warten.
Mit Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurden alle deutschen Kunstakademien geschlossen, das Kasseler Hauptgebäude als Reserve-Lazarett beschlagnahmt. Nach ersten leichten Bombenschäden im August 1942 wurden die Gebäude im Mai 1943 nach Zerstörung der Edertalsperre überflutet und beim Großangriff im Oktober 1943 derart beschädigt, dass sie nicht mehr genutzt werden konnten.

1946
Die Kunstgewerbeschule wird nach dem Krieg unter dem Namen "Schule für Handwerk und Kunst" wiedereröffnet.

1947
Am 1. September 1947 wird die Wiedereröffnung der Kunstakademie unter dem Namen "Werkakademie" beschlossen. Der Lehrbetrieb startet mit 61 Studierenden. Zentraler Gedanke bei der Benennung der Kunsthochschule in Werkakademie war die Prinzipien der Vereinigung freier künstlerischer Tätigkeit mit angewandten Bereichen wie sie seit der Zeit des Bauhauses bestanden. Den Schwerpunkt bildet allerdings weiterhin die freie künstlerische Tätigkeit.

1960
Die vom 8. September 1960 an geltende Satzung der "Staatlichen Hochschule für bildende Künste" betont die Aufgabe, Studierende in allen Arten künstlerischer Gestaltung sowie Bewerber für das künstlerische Lehramt an höheren Schulen auszubilden. Seit diesem Zeitpunkt stellt die Kunsthochschule die einzige Institution in Hessen für die Ausbildung zum Kunsterzieher dar.

1962
Neubau der Werkkunstschule in der Karlsaue. Im Gebäude werden die Ideen von Forschen und Lehren in den angewandten Künsten verwirklicht. Direktor Jupp Ernst machte es sich zusammen mit den Lehrenden und den Architekten zur Aufgabe die Prinzipien des Gestaltens unter den Gesichtspunkten Lehren und Forschen, Entwickeln und Propagieren auch in Bezug auf die Gestaltung des Gebäudes, der Auswahl der Materialien, der Formen und Dimensionen von Mobiliar, Geräten etc. Das Gebäude wird in internationalen Zeitschriften und Gremien als herausragend klassifiziert und beweist die Durchdringung der Lebens- und Arbeitswelt mit Prinzipien des umfassenden Gestaltens: des Designs.

1968
Umzug der Staatlichen Hochschule für bildende Künste unter Leitung von Arnold Bode in das neu errichtete Gebäude in der Karlsaue " direkt neben der Werkkunstschule, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt unter der Leitung von Jupp Ernst stand. Die Werkkunstschule zählt in den 60er Jahren zu den renommiertesten internationalen Standorten für Design und Designausbildung, pflegt zahlreiche Kontakte in die USA und zu ehemaligen Bauhauslehrern.

1970
Am 1. April 1970 findet die Vereinigung der Kunsthochschule mit der Werkkunstschule statt. Ziel ist es, die Trennung der Disziplinen teilweise aufzuheben und eine Versöhnung zwischen freien und angewandten Künsten bei all ihren Unterschieden voranzutreiben. Interdisziplinarität tritt als Stichwort einer sich wandelnden Wissenschaftslandschaft in den Vordergrund.

1971
Am 2. August 1971 wird die Hochschule für bildende Künste Kassel in die Gesamthochschule Kassel integriert und die Bereiche Kunst, Produkt Design, Architektur und Visuelle Kommunikation werden als Fachbereiche eigenständige Funktionseinheiten.

1977
Zum Sommer 1977 zieht die Architektur aus den Gebäuden an der Karlsaue aus und wird am Holländischen Platz angesiedelt. Die bereits bestehende inhaltliche Trennung zwischen Architektur und künstlerischen Studiengängen wird nun auch räumlich vollzogen.

2000
Das hessische Ministerium für Kunst und Wissenschaft beschließt zusammen mit der Gesamthochschule Kassel die Zusammenfassung der Fachbereiche Kunst (Freie Kunst, Kunstwissenschaft, Kunsterziehung), Produkt Design und Visuelle Kommunikation als Kunsthochschule Kassel.